CGAP Eligibility Requirement

Educational Requirement
Candidates must hold a bachelor’s degree or its equivalent from an accredited university or college. A copy of the candidate’s highest qualification, transcripts or other written proof of completion of a degree programme must be submitted with the registration form.

Professional Experience
The candidate must acquire 24 months of auditing experience in a government environment (federal, state/provincial, local, quasi-governmental areas, authority/crown corporation). Work experience must be verified by a CGAP, a CIA, a CCSA, a CFSA, or the candidate's supervisor. The completed Experience verification form may accompany the application or be submitted at a later date.

Special Consideration for CIAs, CCSAs, and CFSAs taking the CGAP Examination
Based on previously met requirements, individuals who hold the Certified Internal Auditor (CIA) designation are assumed to have met the education and character requirements of the CGAP programme. CIAs will only be required to submit proof of auditing experience in a government environment in order to meet the eligibility requirements to sit for the CGAP examination and earn the CGAP designation.  In addition, individuals who hold the CCSA or CFSA designation are assumed to have met the character requirement.

Experience Verification
The Internal Audit Experience Verification Form should be sent with the candidate’s application or later when criteria have been met. However, prompt submission of the Experience Verification Form will expedite certification processing once the candidate has passed the examination.

Character Reference
CGAPs must exhibit the highest moral and professional character and abide by the IIA’s Code of Ethics. Candidates must submit a character reference from a responsible person such as a CGAP, supervisor, manager, or educator. The Character Reference Form must accompany the Application Form.

Continuing Professional Education
Upon certification, CGAPs are required to maintain their knowledge and skills and stay abreast of improvements and current developments in the government auditing environment. For details, refer to Continuing Professional Education (CPE).

IIA Membership
Candidates must be a member of The Institute of Internal Auditors Singapore in order to take any of the IIA Certifications, and be familiar with The IIA’s Standards for the Professional Practice of Internal Auditing and agree to abide by The IIA’s Code of Ethics which sets forth standards of conduct for all members and CIAs.