CRMA Eligibility Requirements

By applying to become a candidate in the CRMA program, an individual agrees to accept the conditions of the program. These include eligibility requirements, exam confidentiality, Code of Ethics, and Continuing Professional Education (CPE), and any other conditions enacted by The IIA's Professional Certification Board (PCB).


CRMA candidates must meet the following eligibility requirements. Before a candidate application can be approved, ALL documentation (proof of education, character reference, and identification) must be received and approved by The IIA’s Certification staff.

CIA Part 1

The candidate must have successfully completed the requirements and passed Part 1 of the CIA exam. This can be done before, during, or after completion of the CRMA exam, but must be completed before the certification is granted. Review the requirements for the CIA exam Part 1.


The candidate must have a 4-year post-secondary degree or higher from an accredited college or university.
A minimum of two years of post-secondary education with an accredited organisation, plus three years of general business experience, may be substituted for a post-secondary degree.

Character Reference

The candidates must exhibit high moral and professional character and must submit a Character Reference Form signed by a CIA, CCSA, CFSA, CRMA, or the candidate's supervisor.

Character Reference Form

Work Experience

CRMA candidates must obtain 24 months of auditing experience or controls-related business experience such as risk management, quality assurance, or CSA. A completed Experience Verification Form is required. Candidates may apply to the program and sit for the exam prior to satisfying the professional experience requirement, but will not be certified until all program requirements have been met.

Experience Verification Form

Proof of Identification

Candidates must provide proof of identification in the form of a copy of the candidate’s official passport or national identity card. These must indicate current status; expired documents will not be accepted. 

Eligibility Period

Effective November 2010, the certification program’s eligibility requires candidates to complete the program certification process within four years of application approval. If a candidate has not completed the certification process within four years, all fees and exam parts will be forfeited.


The CRMA exam is a non-disclosed examination. Candidates in the program agree to keep the contents of the CRMA exam confidential and therefore may not discuss the specific exam content with anyone except The IIA's Certification Department. Unauthorised disclosure of exam material will be considered a breach of the Code of Ethics and could result in disqualification of the candidate or other appropriate censure.

Code of Ethics

CRMA candidates agree to abide by the Code of Ethics established by The IIA.

Continuing Professional Education (CPE)

Upon certification, CRMAs are required to maintain their knowledge and skills and stay abreast of improvements and current developments by satisfying CPE requirements.

IIA Membership

You will have to be a member of The IIA to take the CRMA exam in Singapore.