Home > Certifications > CPE Requirements

CPE Requirements

CPE is facilitated through a self-certification process with the completion and reporting of required CPE hours based on requirement of the respective certification on an annual basis.
The reporting deadline is 31 December each year through the Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS). CPE reporting fee varies according to membership status with the local affiliate. Click here for information on the CPE reporting fees. IIA-certified professionals who fail to meet their CPE requirements by the reporting deadline will automatically be placed in inactive status and may not use their designation.
Get more information on CPE reporting steps for current and inactive IIA certification holders.
New certified holders are awarded non-NASBA CPE credits in the year that they earn their certification from The IIA. This means that you are not required to complete a CPE attestation until the year after your certification was earned.
As an IIA-certified professional, you are responsible for ensuring that the CPE information in your report is accurate. You must include your membership or candidate identification number when reporting your CPE. View the CPE Policy for qualifying CPE activities. 
Log in to the Certification Candidate Management System (CCMS) to complete the CPE Reporting Form.
If you need further assistance, please log in to CCMS and log an incident.
Access NEW CPE POLICY (Effective 1 September 2023)
CPE Opportunities
If you're looking for ways to obtain your CPE hours, check out these possibilities.
Click here for CPE Reporting Requirements for these Certifications
  • Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®)
  • Certification in Control Self-Assessment® (CCSA®)
  • Certified Financial Services Auditor® (CFSA®)
  • Certified Government Auditing Professional® (CGAP®)
  • Certification in Risk Management Assurance™ (CRMA®)