Home > Certifications > Get Certified

Get Certified

Six Steps to Certification
Below are the six steps an internal auditor should review when making the decision to become certified in the profession.
Step 1: Decide Which Certification is Right for You
The IIA's Certified Internal Auditor® (CIA®) certification is the only globally accepted designation for internal auditors. It is a three-part exam that remains the standard by which individuals demonstrate their comprehensive competence and professionalism in the internal auditing field.
The IIA also offers specialty certifications:
Step 2: Determine Your Eligibility and Skill Level
Each of The IIA certification programs has unique and specific education eligibility requirements that a candidate must meet to take the exam. In addition, you may want to assess your skill level by taking a practice test using the sample questions on the website. Although your score on a practice test will not necessarily indicate what your score would be on a certification exam, a practice test may assess your readiness and lets you know in what areas you need improvement.
Certified Internal Auditor Certification in Risk Management Assurance
CIA Eligibility Requirements CRMA Eligibility Requirements
Sample CIA Exam Questions CRMA Exam Preparation Resources
Step 3: Register for the Exam
The IIA's certification exams are now offered all year-round through computer-based testing at more than 500 locations worldwide.
Step 4: Prepare for the Exam
You determine the method(s) in which you need to prepare for the exam. A variety of independent third-party providers offer exam review courses.
Step 5: Take the Exam
The IIA's certification exams are administered through the worldwide network of Pearson VUE Testing Centers which enable candidates to take exams at over 500 sites worldwide.
Step 6: Receive Your Certificate
Once you pass the exam and meet all other programme requirements, you will be eligible to receive your certificate. Candidates are able to download a PDF copy of the certificate through CCMS.